Reviewing stories on NewsTrust

November 19, 2010 § 1 Comment

I just joined NewsTrust, a website that lets users comment on the quality of articles on other news sites – a kind of check on the media. I think NewsTrust is built on a novel idea. Educated people giving their educated opinions on the quality of articles that lots of people read. It’s a way of seeing what’s really good, which I like.

The only drawback is the opinions you see are only from (first) those people who choose to join NewsTrust and (second) those who choose to actively participate in NewsTrust and (third) those who choose to actually pay attention to any given article.

I guess what I’m saying is it’s all based on the whim of those with the ability to use the site well. And so you may not always get the best variety of opinions about something. But then, I suppose even one opinion about something can be nice.

And NewsTrust does have a system of regulating the users who can really become active reviewers, so the hooligans are weeded out and you’re left with reviews that are actually intelligent and relevant.

So, I think what NewsTrust is doing is good, but it could be even better if more people participated.

Here are my reviews:

I did one review on an article from NYT about Google TV.

The next review I wrote was of an article from NYT about Ireland accepting bailout money.

Here’s the the third review I wrote about an NYT article about an “Afghani Hero Dog” that was accidentally euthanized.

§ One Response to Reviewing stories on NewsTrust

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Reviewing stories on NewsTrust at the curious cook.

meta

